MY FRIENDS

Let me introduce you to my friends. You see that mammoth sized guy over there who laughs without a care in the world? He is GUY 1. He is the blue-eyed boy of my group of friends. His laugh at best can be compared to that of a witch and at worst to a croaking bull frog. His hands are like paws of a lion. Each handshake leaves me with beautiful red lines on my hands. Painful. He has a very convincing tongue. I still do not understand how he laces every word he says with sugar, and I take in every word, savour the sugary exterior only to find out the inside is a perfect combination of sugar and salt. Disgusting. I have always blindly followed him. He has, thankfully, made me believe that every attempt I make to step out of the crowd is a waste of energy and the soles of my shoes. He happens to be the main character of my dreams every night, and of my day to day life.
Do you want to know who the loudest is? The one who makes the birds scramble for safety whenever she attempts to sing? The one whose whisper can give you a headache of a lifetime? Let me introduce you to GUY 2. She is as tall as the dining table and her skin hugs her bones tightly. Her vocal cords must have come fitted with an amplifier. Everyday, every minute she whispers sweet nothings (read discouragement) and she overdoses me with nostalgia. My ear drums are going through a tough time I must admit. She is small, but her presence is felt in this world.
The one who carries his shiny brass trumpet everywhere is GUY 3. He always blows it to all and sundry. He has a rendition of every song of mine and plays it to all who care (and to those who do not care) to listen. I could say he is excellent at what he does, but let me just say he would rather use his breath to extinguish fire. He has hypnotised me though, and made me believe that his music is soothing to my ears. Oh, his trumpet is in aluminium, not brass. I have never noticed that before. Whatever powers he has, they are really working. He is the one that gave me these sun glasses; they prevent truth from hurting my eyes and blur the future. I am officially myopic.
Those are just three of my friends. They are very interesting characters. The three plus others decided to move into my house without my consent. I cannot play hide-and-seek with them any more. They have narrowed my options to two; I either see them, or they see me. I am sick and tired of having them, so I have decided to slip away from my house and run to another world, where they will never find me. The clock strikes midday, and as my ‘beloved’ friends gather to hold their daily meeting, my flight commences.
I am forced to throw away my heels so that I can run faster. Every contact that my bare feet make with the uneven ground makes me wince with pain. The huge energy reserves that I had at the beginning are at the threshold of depletion, but I still keep on. My even breathing at the beginning is replaced with loud gasps. My chest is painfully fighting for air, but I still keep on. Rivers of sweat are flowing down my body, they do nothing to quell the rowdy heat sensation in my being, but I still keep on. The onlookers throw me arrows poisoned with bitter remarks. I dodge some, most get me and make me fall and bruise myself, much to their delight. I stand, dust myself, and still keep on.
Eventually I arrive at the booking office, and I realise that so many people want to go to the same destination as I do. I wonder what they are running away from. I am the last person on the queue. There are about five billion people in front of me. After decades of waiting, I am eventually able to pay for my journey. We all wait for the vehicle that is supposed to take us there. My spirited anticipation is quickly replaced with angry impatience when dark sets in and the vehicle has not yet come. I complain till I fall into deep slumber on the cold floor.

When I wake up, I find that I am alone. I was left behind. These people; they cannot even wake me up? I guess I just have to go home, gather all the courage I have and kick those friends out of my house. You want to know their names? GUY 1 is fear, GUY 2 is defeat and GUY 3 is worry. I have a feeling they are our mutual friends. Its time we lock them out of our houses.
4 thoughts on “MY FRIENDS

  1. we have mutual friends huh? The destination is death. The only way of avoiding those friends (when they have become too much) without confronting them head on is committing suicide. and that is the worst thing you could do.

    Like

Leave a Reply

